Categories
DV/IPV

Strangulation Medical Imaging Protocols

The Training Institute on Strangulation Prevention is hosting a webinar next month, Medical Imaging Protocols. The session will be held July 10th at 1pm ET. From the announcement:

This webinar features the Medical Advisory Board of the Training Institute on Strangulation Prevention, recognized as the leading experts in the field on non-fatal strangulation. These experts will be discussing new imaging recommendations they have developed and released for Emergency Room professionals.

Register here.

Categories
DV/IPV

When the Man Who Abuses You Is Also a Cop

I don’t often give mainstream media articles their own post (we wait for Mondays to do that), but 1.) this one is worth it, and 2.) I will be stepping away from FHO until next Thursday, as I take the girlchild on her 1st round of college visits (!). Huffington Post has a terrific article on police-perpetrated intimate partner violence that, while a long read, is definitely worth your time. I encourage you to spend some time with it and consider how your own programs handle patients who present after being assaulted by law enforcement. I’m proud to say in my former program, we had a very specific process for working with this particular patient group that included a unique law enforcement reporting pathway and 2 person team completing the exam (as these cases were always complex and the extra set of eyes and hands was welcomed). The whole piece is a great jumping off point for a team discussion. Even if you only provide sexual assault care, there’s still a conversation to be had about the unique needs and concerns of patients who present after police-perpetrated violence.

 

Categories
Articles of Note Child Abuse

Articles of Note, June 2017 Edition

Time once again for Articles of Note, our (mostly) monthly frolic through the peer reviewed literature. Lots of stuff for our peds practitioners this go round. A few full-text options available, as well, so keep your eyes open for those. As always there’s a Word doc with active links, and a PDF for ease of printing and sharing. Also as always, please provide attribution if you decide to use or disseminate (and by that, since someone asked, I mean please don’t take my name out of the header, that sort of thing). Enjoy!

 

Categories
Uncategorized

Developing Culturally Responsive Approaches to Serving Diverse Populations

The National Research Center on Hispanic Children and Families published a guide this spring, Developing Culturally Responsive Approaches to Serving Diverse Populations: A Resource Guide for Community-Based Organizations (PDF). There’s a lot packed into this relatively brief resource; the active links alone are worth downloading it, regardless of the setting in which you work. As you consider how to best serve all members of the community, this guide can move you closer to your goals.

Categories
Uncategorized

Since Last We Spoke, 6-19-17

This weekend was a whirlwind of family–my parents were in town, my kid got here for the summer, and my Aunt and Uncle celebrated 50 years of marriage–so I was entirely consumed with lovely things. Last night, after the dust had settled, I had a chance to see what was happening in the world, and catch up with my social media feeds. Here’s what caught my eye since last we spoke:

I testified on the Hill on Friday in front of the Congressional Bipartisan Task Force to End Sexual Violence. You can see the full proceedings here. I look *very* serious; also my folks and kid are visible in the background 🙂

Cosby mistrial: NSVRC’s statement

Also: I believe Cosby

And: what it tells us about power in America

The stories we tell, and the stories we don’t

So here we are: America, 2017

Out of darkness, a glimmer of something lovely

Pray for peace for her family

Father’s Day–not everyone is so lucky

Anne Lamott is my spirit animal:

Categories
Elder Abuse/Neglect

World Elder Abuse Awareness Day

June 15th is World Elder Abuse Awareness Day. In light of this, allow me to point your attention to the dedicated NCJRS page that has a good selection of resources.

And from WHO:

Categories
Sexual Assault

Trauma Informed Care Webinars from Indian Health Service

H/t to Kim Day for this info: Indian Health Service Division of Behavioral Health is offering a series of webinars for program supervisors and clinicians on Trauma Informed Care. For those of you working with American Indian/Alaska Native patients:

Webinar for Supervisors presented by Maria Brave Heart, PhD  (for SANE Program Manger staff)
All Webinars in this series will last 1 hour and begin at: 12:30 pm Eastern, 11:30 am Central, 10:30 Mountain, 9:30 am Pacific, 8:30 am Alaska
July 12 Trauma Informed Care and Historical Trauma Informed Care for All Staff Who are in a Supervisory Role: Part 1 Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/egmmwnnsra31/event/event_info.html
Aug 1 Trauma Informed Care and Historical Trauma Informed Care for All Staff Who are in a Supervisory Role: Part 2 Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/enl9i6936a8c/event/event_info.html
Aug 22 Trauma Informed Care and Historical Trauma Informed Care for All Staff Who are in a Supervisory Role: Part 3 Register here: Trauma
ihs.adobeconnect.com/emocelj7vyjj/event/event_info.html
Sept 12 Trauma Informed Care and Historical Trauma Informed Care for All Staff Who are in a Supervisory Role: Part 1 (repeat) Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/eytpe12lvhav/event/event_info.html
Oct 3 Trauma Informed Care and Historical Trauma Informed Care for All Staff Who are in a Supervisory Role: Part 2 (repeat) Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/etqvvxf895b5/event/event_info.html
Oct 24 Trauma Informed Care and Historical Trauma Informed Care for All Staff Who are in a Supervisory Role: Part 3 (repeat) Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/ezeyv1vkf23e/event/event_info.html

Health Care Provider Webinars presented by Jeanne Bereiter, MD
Unless otherwise noted, all Webinars in this series will last 1 hour and begin at: 2 pm Eastern, 1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific, 10 am Alaska
June 15 Part I in 3 Part Series for Medical Providers: ACES & Why They Matter in Healthcare Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/emwy6p5l9hhh/event/event_info.html
July 6 Part II in 3 Part Series for Medical Providers: Trauma, Attachment, & DSM 5 Diagnoses Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/ejqxnbhvguaq/event/event_info.html
Aug 24 Part III in 3 Part Series for Medical Providers: Vicarious Trauma & Burnout in Healthcare Providers and How a Trauma Informed System Can Help Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/etsk7iet5wtz/event/event_info.html
Sept 26 Part I in 3 Part Series for Medical Providers: ACES & Why They Matter in Healthcare (repeat) Begins at: 4:30 pmEastern, 3:30 pm Central, 2:30 pm Mountain, 1:30 pm Pacific, 12:30 pm Alaska Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/es0vx53ux6cz/event/event_info.html
Oct 17 Part II in 3 Part Series for Medical Providers: Trauma, Attachment, & DSM 5 Diagnoses (repeat) Begins at: 4:30 pm Eastern, 3:30 pm Central, 2:30 pm Mountain, 1:30 pm Pacific, 12:30 pm Alaska Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/ecpadd2560km/event/event_info.html
Nov 15 Part III in 3 Part Series for Medical Providers: Vicarious Trauma & Burnout in Healthcare Providers and How a Trauma Informed System Can Help (repeat) Begins at: 3 pm Eastern, 2 pm Central, 1 pm Mountain, 12 pm Pacific, 11 amAlaska Register here: ihs.adobeconnect.com/emfgz7yqnlli/event/event_info.html

Categories
Sexual Assault

Roxane Gay on the Daily Show

One of my favorite writers, Roxane Gay, has a new book out, Hunger (review). Last night she was the featured interview on the Daily Show, which I would encourage you to watch (the interview starts at 15:37). You can also read about the history of this book, and it’s reason for being in several media outlets:

The Atlantic

Washington Post

Village Voice

We know all too well that people react to trauma in myriad ways. Roxane Gay helps us understand one. I can’t wait to read this.

UPDATE: Roxane Gay on Fresh Air

Categories
Uncategorized

Since Last We Spoke, 6-12-17

It was DC Pride this weekend, so I confess to lots of playtime, and very little work. Particularly because this weekend marked the beginning of my slow season, when I make the conscious choice to spend more time with my family, and less time on the road, eating sad hotel dinners alone, I ended up being pretty slothful. No courts martial for the next few months, and only a couple teaching gigs, which means more time for personal projects, like the stuff I do here at FHO. Still, last night I played catch up on social media, and there was plenty to read. Here’s what caught my eye since last we spoke:

We went to Pride Shabbat services Friday night and I was so glad our rabbi honored the memory of the victims of the Pulse shooting one year ago today. And here, honoring the survivors.

New study on tonic immobility

Colorado exploring new payment options for sexual assault exams

I love everything about this, except that it’s necessary in the 1st place

I’m pretty sure many of us had the same thought

Yet another reason I switched to Lyft

A husband for home, a wife for away 

Man, this whole situation–our worst nightmare as healthcare providers

Optimal lives are designed not discovered

A long read, but an important one: America’s Hidden HIV Epidemic

Categories
DV/IPV

Responding to Mental Health Crisis: Trauma-Informed Approaches to Conversations About Diagnosis, Treatment and Medication

The National Center on Domestic Violence, Trauma and Mental Health has a webinar coming up at the end of the month that I think could be very informative for forensic clinicians as we talk to our patients about their health status and needs for follow-up care and referrals. Responding to Mental Health Crisis: Trauma-Informed Approaches to Conversation About Diagnosis, Treatment and Medication will be held June 28th at 2pm CT. From the announcement:

In our services it sometimes feels uncomfortable to initiate conversations with survivors about mental health challenges and psychiatric diagnosis and about medication and other approaches to treatment. Our own views and our experiences with mental health systems can contribute to misunderstandings and disconnection for people we intend to assist. This webinar will consider ways to approach these conversations that are transparent about our intentions, support learning about individual preferences, and are respectful of the range of views.

Register for the session here.

Categories
Child Abuse

Demystifying the Prepubescent Medical Forensic Examination

KidsTA has a webinar coming up that’s perfect for those of you thinking about expanding your practice to pediatrics. Demystifying the Prepubescent Medical Forensic Examination will be held June 22nd at 3pm ET. From the announcement:

The Medical Forensic examination is an integral component of the child sexual abuse response and requires coordination of services among multidisciplinary team (MDT) members as they are often the gateway to the child’s access to health care and the exam. While the U.S. Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women’s (OVW) National Protocol for Sexual Abuse Medical Forensic Examinations Pediatric (2016) recommends that the urgency of the examination be determined by a health care provider, nonclinical members of the MDT need to understand what the prepubescent medical forensic exam entails, and to be prepared to dispel any misconceptions or fears the child or caregiver may have about the examination. This presentation will highlight key components of the medical forensic examination, and illustrate evidenced based examples of the exam and resources available through the IAFN’s Pediatric Technical Assistance Project and the www.KIDSta.org website.

You can register here.

Categories
Uncategorized

Since Last We Spoke, 6-5-17

So, you may have noticed it was pretty quiet on FHO last week. What can I say–trial weeks are sometimes like that. This week I’m signing on from Wichita, KS, where I am looking forward to a lively workshop with the SANEs in this state today. And then it’s on to Boulder, where I’ll be teaching for the Army at my alma mater (go Buffs!), with all my favorite military law nerds. Believe it or not, that will do it for travel for a month (at least work travel), since we are headed into the summer, when my kiddo is home and I take very little work on the road while she’s there. Still, I was in airports this weekend, and there was plenty of time to surf. Here’s what caught my eye since last we spoke:

Have you seen it? Seems like we could use a hero right about now.

Related

Starting tomorrow

Just in time for Pride

On a day when I needed a break from racist/islamophobic bullsh*t on the interwebs, this saved my soul

Man, this is so hauntingly beautiful

Gross.

Enjoying StoryCorp’s Justice Project